Which one is a better down jacket? Ghost Whisperer/2 vs Cerium SL

Jonas Schneider
3 min readNov 30, 2020

--

Photo by Scott Gummerson on Unsplash

After doing a thorough research on this subject, I thought it would be useful to share my findings with you. Those who want to buy a good down jacket for this winter season usually ask the question; Ghost Whisperer / 2 or Cerium SL? Which one is better down jacket. For this reason, before choosing one, my advice is to decide for what purpose you will use it.

I strongly recommend you to just visit the source I used. Camparest.com has a lot of graphs, pictures, pros and cons for the outdoor gears. They have side by side comparative analyisis of the product. I used their entry as a reference for my post.

Now, let’s compare them side by side:

Mountain Hardwear Ghost Whisperer/2

Mountain Hardwear Ghost Whisperer/2 vs Arc’teryx Cerium SL

-Pros: Ghost Whisperer/2 is lightweight, compact, warm for its size. It has effective hydrophobic down.

-Cons: It has no hood cinch and no chest pocket

-Weight of the jacket is just 8.5 oz

Ghost Whisperer/2 down insulation is 800-fill RDS®-certified.

I would suggest you to go and take a look at deeply to Mountain Hardwear Ghost Whisperer/2.

Arc’teryx Cerium SL Hoody

Arc’teryx Cerium SL vs Mountain Hardwear Ghost Whisperer/2

-Pros:Arc’teryx Cerium SL is a Super Lightweight (SL) jacket. It is very stylish, and has a high warmth to weight ratio.

-Cons: it is not super durable, but this is the disadvantage of producing a super lightweight jacket.

-Weight of the jacket is just 8.4 oz

-It has 850-fill goose down

If you want to go and take a look at deeply to Arc’teryx Cerium SL Hoody, check this.

Warmth: People who compare the warmth rate of these two product stated that Gost Whisperer/2 is better than Cerium SL

Compressibility-Pacability: I do not know if there is a down jacket which will beat Cerium SL considering compressibility.

Cost: From cost stand point, both of them are almost the same. In the market place you can find Ghost Whisperer/2 at $243.71 and Cerium SL at $269.25, therefore what I can say cost is not a deal breaker while choosing.

I hope this entry is helpful for you to make the right choice for you.

Tags: Best Down Jacket of 2021, Arc’teryx vs Mountain Hardwear, Cerium SL vs Ghost Whisperer, Best Down Jacket for Men of 2021, Best Winter Jacket for Men, Arc’Teryx Cerium SL, Mountain Hardwear Ghost Whisperer.

--

--

Jonas Schneider
0 Followers

Hello Guys, this is Jonas. I am a gym rat and a nomad! I have hiked 300 miles so far. When I am not hiking I usually like camping and skiing in the winter.